Battle Set to Resume at Phakisa

Just four months ago a battle that had been raging all of 2014 came to an end when Clint Seller claimed the inaugural SuperGP Champions Trophy. Hostilities will resume on Sunday, 22 March at Phakisa Raceway when the opening round of the 2015 DEOD SuperGP Champions Trophy takes place.

Brandon Goode
Brandon Goode

Last year Seller and Lance Isaacs were the class of the field but they will not have things all their own way in 2015. Brent Harran, Brandon Goode and Garrick Vlok all ran at the head of the field last season and improved consistency could see them mount a serious challenge for the 2015 title.

Mathew Scholtz, runner up in the Super600 Championship in 2014, has made the step up to the premier category and is another who is likely to be a serious contender. Nicholas Kershaw has also moved up to the litre class.

Super600 Champion Steven Odendaal will be back to defend his title. He won 11 of the 16 championship races last year but a number of riders will be out to stop him having such an easy run in 2015. Among them will be Adolf Boshoff, who showed an impressive turn of speed in the two rounds he competed in last year, Blaze Baker and Michael White. Allann-jon Venter and the only lady in the field, Nicole van Aswegen, can also mix it up with the best of them.

The SuperGP and Super600 riders will be supported by the SuperM category as well and the new SuperJunior class where all the riders are mounted on identical KTM RC390 motorcycles.

Tin Run Tour

The opening round of the 2015 DEOD SuperGP Championship Trophy sees the launch of the Tin Run Tour where spectators will be encouraged to donate a tin of food in exchange for free entry to the circuit for the day.

All the food collected will be donated to charities in the area of the circuit. Normally the initiative only applies to motorcycle riders and their pillions but, for the opening round at Phakisa, spectators in cars may also donate a can of food to gain entry to the track.